Alberta Aboriginal Youth Achievement Awards (AAYA)



The Alberta Aboriginal Youth Achievement Awards (AAYA) attract nearly 1,000 attendees every year.  the AAYAA is, or was, an annual celebration of the many significant accomplishments of Métis, First Nations and Inuit youth from across Alberta.

The recognition the award-winners receive encourages excellence while creating positive new role-models for young people throughout the province.

Aayaa still believes that uplifting our young role-models, is vital for young minds striving to realize the terrific personal potential they possess. Aayaa recognizes Aboriginal youth who;

  • Demonstrates capable leadership in the community and among his/her peer groups.

  • Exercises a strong desire and commitment to the attainment of educational goals and and career ambitions.

  • Show great support and encourages other youth to continue and persevere in their academic endeavors.

  • Encourages and enthusiastically participates in multi-cultural or cross-cultural activities which involve both Aboriginal and non-aboriginal communities.

Awards History

The Alberta Aboriginal Youth Achievement Awards (AAYAA) is, or was, an annual gala which celebrates the achievements of Aboriginal youth from across Alberta, Canada. The award banquet usually takes place every March each year.

The Métis Nation of Alberta Youth Programs Department originally developed in 2003 to promote youth initiatives and activities in different sectors of community development. There’s a chance that it was discontinued.

The annual awards gala is, or was, directed and supported by the Rupertsland Institute Métis Centre of Excellence. The idea became so much accepted and supported  by various organizations, groups and also by the community because  of the recognition of heritage and encouraged participation of youth in education and other basic areas of the society.

The awards were meant to induce encouragement among the youth in their quest to accomplish their goals and achieve their dreams hence their continuous strive for excellence. Each year, the community-family, friends, teachers and co-workers in various organizations- are eligible to nominate names of youths with outstanding accomplishments and efforts in eight different categories.

Award Categories

1. Culture & Heritage 
2. Volunteer Services 
3. Academic Achievement 
4. Athletic Achievement 
5. Career Advancement 
6. Personal Achievement 
7. Walking the Red Road
8. Community Leader

Tyler Tyler
Why do they say is, or was?

Dr. Halls Dr. Halls
Because, I’m not sure if these awards are still being offered.

Tyler Tyler
And why do you have this website?

Talking Moose
Talking Moose
He likes palindrome domain names.


Mail your Nomination to: Shannon Souray, Rupertsland Institute, #1450-10060 Jasper Ave. Edmonton, AB T5J 3R8, 780-801-9977

Megan Megan
So, this Mail your Nomination address, is it still valid?

Tyler Tyler
Probably not. But I don’t know.



About the Rupertsland Institute

logo_rupertsland_newThe Métis Nation of Alberta has a history of turning community programs into institutional development. In February 2010, the organization announced another historic decision to develop and establish an education, training and research institute under an umbrella organization to be called the Rupertsland Institute – Métis Centre of Excellence. The Rupertsland Institute has since been incorporated as a non-profit (Section 9) company under the Alberta Companies Act, and is governed by a professional Board of Governors comprised of representatives from the Métis business community, the University of Alberta, other academia, industry, and the MNA Provincial Council. They have divisions of Research and Professional development, Education, some Endowment Awards, and a Training and Employment division.

Megan Megan
What are these posts?

Tyler Tyler
I think they look like little student essays.